Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (born 1986 in Trondheim, Norway) is a trombonist working mainly within contemporary fields of music. An ambiguous relationship with the trombone has led him to explore both the boisterous and brassy side of the instrument, as well as it’s counterpoint in microscopic and ‘electronic’ sound possibilities. Utilizing a wide spectrum of playing techniques, from pure long tones to noise and the almost inaudible, he often works balancing the intuitive with the precisely constructed.

Nørstebø’s time is divided between his regular projects; trios As deafness increases, Lana trio, Whirl (with Tobias Delius) and Nørstebø/Strid/de Heney, duo BEAM SPLITTER (with Audrey Chen), new music ensemble "Aksiom" and the freejazzpop-band "Skadedyr". He is also a member of several project based groups, and have appeared in a myriad of ad hoc settings. Having toured actively since 2010, he has played at clubs and festivals all over Europe, as well as in Russia, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Australia, USA, Brazil and Argentina.

Apart from his big range of collaborations, Henrik has been working regularly with solo music since 2007. His debut record was released in 2011, and his second solo record “Melting into foreground” was released on SOFA in november 2015. In addition to numerous other releases, his discography contains duo records with Swedish pianist Rasmus Borg and Austrian sound artist Daniel Lercher.

Educated in improvised music and jazz from the music academies in Gothenburg (BA) and Oslo (MA), he is now based in Norway and Berlin.

Current projects (press links for more info) :

  • Solo
  • Beam splitter - with Audrey Chen (voice)
  • Duo - with Daniel Lercher (laptop)
  • Lana trio - with Kjetil Jerve (piano) and Andreas Wildhagen (drums)
  • Whirl - with Tobias Delius (saxophone/clarinet) and Adrian Myhr (double bass)
    + existing but less active:
  • As deafness increases - with Inga Aas (viola da gamba/double bass) and Rudolf Bjørnerem (electro-acoustic guitar)
  • Nørstebø/Strid/de Heney - with Raymond Strid (drums) and Nina de Heney (double bass)

Also a member of:

Skadedyr is something out of the ordinary. The group consists of 12 musicians in all, and an even larger number of instruments. With a brass section, guitars, keyboards, vocals, two drummers, strings and accordion, they are positively bursting with musical images and narratives. Their music is both accessible and uncompromising, and stylistically they could be described as an octopus, whose tentacles reach out to a multitude of musical genres.
Anja Lauvdal (piano, synth), Heida Karine Jóhannesdóttir Mobeck (tuba), Hans Hulbækmo (drums), Torstein Lavik Larsen (trumpet), Øystein Aarnes Vik (drums), Ida Løvli Hidle (accordion), Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (trombone), Adrian Løseth Waade (violin), Fredrik Luhr Dietrichson (bass), Ina Sagstuen (vocal), Lars Ove Fossheim (guitar), Marius Klovning (lap steel gitar)

Aksiom is an ensemble for new music based in Oslo. Aksiom focuses on developing new pieces with composers (among others Johan Svensson, Øyvind Mæland, Martin Ødegaard and Martin Rane Bauck), and also on improvisation, giving concerts within both fields on a regular basis.
Lynetta Taylor Hansen (flute), Fredrik Brandstorp Olsen (saxophones), Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (trombone), Anders Kregnes Hansen (percussion),
Jonas Cambien (piano), Ole Martin Huser-Olsen (guitar), Vilde Sandve Alnæs (violin), Ivan Valentin Hollup Roald (cello), Christian M. Svendsen (double bass), Kai Grinde Myrann (conductor)

Johan Lindvall (piano/compositions), Ina Sagstuen (voice), Christian Winther (guitar), Jan Martin Gismervik (drums), Magnus Skavhaug Nergaard (bass),
Torstein Lavik Larsen (trumpet), Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (trombone), Mette Henriette Martedatter Rølvåg (saxophone)

Mette Henriette "Ø"
Mette Henriette Rølvåg (saxophone), Eivind Lønning (trumpet), Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (trombone), Sara Övinge (violin), Karin Hellqvist (violin), Odd Hannisdal (violin), Bendik Bjørnstad Foss (viola), Ingvild Nesdal Sandnes (cello), Katrine Schiøtt (cello), Andreas Rokseth (bandoneon), Johan Lindvall (piano), Per Zanussi (double bass), Per Oddvar Johansen (drums)